A Celebratory dinner at Michelin Starred Hakkasan Mayfair

For our seven year wedding anniversary we decided to go back to an old favourite instead of trying somewhere new. This was pretty unlike us but we were both craving Dim Sum and fondly remembered our meal at Hakkasan in Abu Dhabi. That had been a truly opulent affair as the Hakkasan in Abu Dhabi is located in the glitzy Emirates Palace hotel. Our meal there had been excellent and faultless. As we hadn’t been to the Mayfair branch of Hakkasan yet we booked a table there.

You’ll have to excuse the photos as it was really dark and our table was quite small so a little difficult to take proper photos.

For drinks Amit went for a Beer and I tried one of the cocktails. They did have a Mojito on the menu but it was made with Tequila and I can’t handle Tequila at all so decided to try the Ginger Cooler. This is a rum based cocktail made with Diplomático Mantuano rum, and flavoured with ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, apple and ginger ale. It was delicious! I just wish that the Mojito was a normal classic one as I would have been happiest having my favourite tipple on my anniversary.

img_1350

 

To banish those Dim Sum cravings we selected the Vegetarian dim sum platter, which has crystal dumplings, yam bean and shiitake dumplings, water chestnut dumplings, and vegetable beancurd rolls. It was colourful, tasty and just exactly what we had wanted.

img_13466176649648_img_7568

I loved that there was equal portions of each dim sum for us so we weren’t fighting over them!

We also tried the Salt and pepper tofu, for which they used homemade pumpkin tofu. It was incredible and my favourite dish of the meal. I loved the garnishing and scraped it all up and didn’t let any go to waste. Definitely a dish I would order again

img_1347-1

 

Grilled Shanghai dumpling was our next dish to share and these are similar in taste and texture to Japanese Gyozas and they were superb.

img_1349

For our mains we shared a Sanpei chicken claypot which was chicken cooked with sweet basil, chilli and spring onions. We had some egg fried rice to accompany it and we were pretty full after our selection of dishes and couldn’t manage dessert. It was really scrumptious and I think we has ordered just the right amount of food.

6176649648_img_7585

 

img_1351-1

We loved our meal so we will be back to try some more dishes and hopefully dessert next time! I loved the ambience in the restaurant and it was buzzing, and obviously very popular.

It has trendy decor, has a real upmarket feel and it is easy to see why Hakkasan has retained its Michelin star. The Dim Sum was just gorgeous and even as I type this I already want to go back for another fix. I have seen some great deals on Bookatable for Hakkasan so will definitely be using one of those soon.

Have you been to Hakkasan? What were your favourite dishes?

2 thoughts on “A Celebratory dinner at Michelin Starred Hakkasan Mayfair

Leave a comment